n the Presence of the Secretary General for Spatial Planning and Urban Environment of the Ministry of Environment and Energy, Mr Efthymios Bakoyannis and the Deputy General Director of the Directorate General for Mobility and Transport of the European Commission (DG Move) Mr. Matthew Baldwin, a teleconference was held on Tuesday 20 July among the municipalities of Herakleion, Ioannina, Kalamata, Kozani and Trikala with Members of the Mission Board “100 climate neutral cities by 2030” regardingtopics related to the Mission of European Union that aims at climate neutrality of 100 cities by 2030.

The Mission Board was represented by Mrs Maria Vassilakou and Mr Chrysses Nikolaides, while the Municipalities by the Mayors Mr Vassilios Lambrinos, Mr Moses Elisaf, Mr Athanasios Vassilopoulos, Mr Lazaros Maloutas and Mr Dimitrios Papastergiou, respectively. Mrs Laura, the European Policy Officer, was also present at the teleconference.

The five Mayors, representing the whole of their cities, stated that they aim and have already started the preparations for the inclusion of their Municipality in the European Mission, underlining the benefits that will arise both at local and national level.

The selected cities will be internationally promoted, will have the opportunity to redefine their identity (cityre-branding), and will serve as models for the wider region and other urban centers to transform themselves into innovation hubs, adopting new forms of governance and developing a new economic climate action model. At local level, the benefits will be multiple (environmental, social, economic, educational), such as improving air quality, promoting a healthier lifestyle, improving mobility, creating new jobs, andthe overall change of the citizen’s attitude towards the environment.At European and national level, incentives will be given to move towards climate change-friendly investments, holistic urban planning solutions will be presented and smart technologies, data platforms and urban modelingsystems for better energy management of urban centers will be promoted.

Deputy General Director Matthew Baldwin underlined the need for the Mission

Matthew Baldwin is European Commission Officer, Deputy Director General of DG MOVE and Director of the Commission’s Mission for the 100 Climate Neutral Cities by 2030. Moreover, he is the EU Coordinator for Road Safety and Sustainable Urban Mobility and manages the transport network of Commission during the COVID-19 crisis period.

Mr. Baldwin welcomed the initiative of the five Greek cities to participate in the process of selecting the 100 climate neutral poles by 2030, and stressed that the above cities have MrMr Baldwin welcomed the initiative of the five Greek cities to participate in the selectionprocess of the 100 climate neutral cities and underlined that the above cities have special characteristics, which make them particularly important for data collectionfrom the southeastern Mediterranean that will contribute to the goal of climate neutrality throughout Europe by 2050, through the Green Deal.

The Secretary General Efthymios Bakogiannis stated the support of the Ministry of Environment and Energyfor the Greek Participations

TheSecretaryGeneralfor SpatialPlanningandUrbanEnvironmentof the Ministry of Environment and Energy, Mr. Efthymios Bakogiannis, after thanking the European Commissioner and the Members of the Mission Board, Mrs Maria Vassilakou and Mr Chrysses Nikolaides, who in collaboration with the staff of the ministryare working on the preparation of the Greek participations since April 2020, underlined that the Greek Government has already included in its program large-scale projects addressing Municipalities and individuals with the aim of climate neutrality, which will be financed by the Recovery Fund, the ESPA 21-27, the Green Fund, the Antonis Tritsis Program, the program Save, Maintain, Renovate, Live, the program Electra etc. He also stressed the legislative reforms that will be implemented in both the primary and secondary sectors to support the Mission.

Share This
Skip to content